7.1 Tables
When using tables, it is important to ensure that they are clear and appropriately structured. This helps all users to better understand the information in the table and allows assistive technologies (e.g., screen readers) to provide context so that the information within the table can be conveyed in a meaningful way.
Tips for tables
- Only use tables for tabular information, not for formatting, such as to position columns.
- Use “real tables” rather than text formatted to look like tables using the TAB key or space bar. These will not be recognized by assistive technology.
- Keep tables simple by avoiding merged cells and dividing complex data sets into separate smaller tables, where possible.
- Always set the header to show at the top of each page. Also set the table to break between rows instead of in the middle of rows.
- Create a text summary of the essential table contents. Any abbreviations used should be explained in the summary.
- Table captions or descriptions should answer the question “what is the table’s purpose and how is it organized?” (e.g., “A sample order form with separate columns for the item name, price and quantity”).
- Table cells should be marked as table headers when they serve as labels to help interpret the other cells in the table.
- Table header cell labels should be concise and clear.
To add a table with headings
- Go to menu item: Insert > Table (Ctrl+F12).
- Enter a name for the table.
- Specify the number of columns and rows in the table.
- Select the Heading check box.
- Select the Repeat heading check box.
- Indicate the number of rows you want to use for the heading in The first…rows spinner box.
Note: Whenever possible, keep tables simple with just 1 row of headings.
To add table headings manually
- Highlight the table cells that should be headers.
- Go to menu item: Format >Styles and Formatting (F11).
- Select the Heading check box and make sure that Repeat heading is checked.
To make tables break between rows instead of in the middle of rows
- Place the cursor inside the table.
- Go to menu item: Table > Table Properties.
- Select the Text Flow tab.
- Unselect the check box Allow row to break across pages and columns.
- Select OK.
7.2. Lists
When you create lists, it is important to format them as “real lists”. Otherwise, assistive technologies will interpret your list as a series of short separate paragraphs instead of a coherent list of related items.
To create an ordered or unordered list
This applies a paragraph style for lists that makes sure that assistive technology and other software can recognize the content as a list.
- Select text.
- Go to menu item: Format > Styles and Formatting.
- In the Styles and Formatting dialog, select a list style such as List 1 or Numbering 1.
Note: Do not select the style “List”: this style is reserved for modifying all list styles or numbering styles at once.
There are two methods for adding visual list formatting to this list: the first one modifies the ap