Word Practice 1
Here is a video demonstrating the skills in this practice. Please note it does not exactly match the instructions:
Complete the following Practice Activity and submit your completed project.
For our first assignment in Word, we will create a flyer to be printed or posted online. The flyer will advertise a volunteer opportunity for Health Sciences students at Paradise Valley Community College. Key skills in this practice are inserting text and pictures, textboxes, formatting text and footers.
- Start Word. Click Blank Document.
- Show formatting marks by navigating to the Home Tab, Paragraph Group, and selecting the Show/Hide icon. This is a Toggle Button. This means it has two modes, on and off. To turn it on, click it once, to turn it off, click it again.
- Show the ruler by navigating to the View tab, Show Group, and selecting the Ruler Check Box. A Check Box is a type of input control. A checkboxes value is only included in the submitted data if the checkbox is currently checked. In other words, when the box is checked, the value is included.
- Navigate to the File Tab to enter Backstage View. In backstage view, select File, then Save As. Click the Browse button. In the Save As dialog box, navigate to your file structure from the previous chapter, then open the Word folder. In the Name field, type Yourlastname_Yourfirstname_Word_Practice_1 as the file name, and then save.
- Type Volunteer Opportunity Available and press Enter twice.
- Type the following text: This fall, Paradise Valley Community College is offering a unique volunteer opportunity for Health Sciences students. Press spacebar.
- Navigate to the Insert Tab, Text group, and choose the Object arrow. Then choose text from file. In the Insert File dialog box, browse to the location where you saved the files from Canvas. Select the file Text_Word_Practice1. Click OK. The text will automatically update your document.
- Select all of the text in the document. On the Home Tab, Font Group, ensure the Font is Calibri and font size is 12.
- Select the title, Volunteer Opportunity Available, including the paragraph mark. On the Home Tab, Font Group, select the arrow next to Text Effects and Topography. In the third row, third column, apply the Fill: Blue, Accent color 5; Outline: White, Background color 1; Hard Shadow: Blue, color 5 text effect.
- With the title still selected, change the font size to 36.
- On the Home Tab, Paragraph Group, choose Center to align the title centered on the page.
- On the Home Tab, Font Group, change the font color to Blue, Accent 1 for the title.
- With the title still selected, on the Home Tab, in the Font Group, choose the arrow next to the Text Effect and Typography icon. Apply a Shadow and under Inner, click Inside: Right text effect.
- Position the insertion point at the beginning of the paragraph that begins with This Fall.
- On the Insert tab, Illustrations group, choose Pictures. Navigate to your saved files from Canvas and choose the H