Word Practice 6
Here is a video demonstrating the skills in this practice. Please note it does not exactly match the instructions:
Complete the following Practice Activity and submit your completed project.
For Word Practice 6, we will use Word to create a newsletter for Health Sciences students at SPCCC. Key skills in this practice are formatting text as columns, editing pictures, inserting screen clips, symbols and special characters.
- Start Word and open Starter_Word_Practice6. Save the file as Yourlastname_Yourfirstname_Word_Practice_6 in your Word folder.
- Using Document Info, insert the file name in the footer.
- Select the first paragraph that begins with Paradise Valley and apply Bold text and change the font color to Blue-Gray, Text 2 (If you cannot find this exact color, choose a blue under the theme colors. Then for each time this color appears again, choose the same blue you chose).
- With the title still selected, go to the Home Tab, Paragraph Group, select the arrow next to Borders and choose Borders and Shading to launch the Dialog Box. Add a Blue-Gray, Text 2Darker 25%, 2¼ pt solid line bottom border.
- Select all the text beginning with Health Sciences Newsletter down to the end of the document excluding the final paragraph.
- On the Layout Tab, Page Setup Group, Set the columns to two. Compare your screen to the image below:
- With the two columns of text still selected, change the spacing after to 6 pt and Justify the text.
- Position the insertion before December Birthdays and insert a column break on the Layout tab, beaks group, and select column. This will ensure the column of December Birthdays is a new column.
- Position the insertion point at the end of the document in the empty space after the paragraph that begins with When you are finished…
- On the Insert tab, Illustrations Group, Select Pictures. Browse to where your downloaded files from Canvas are stored and insert the Health Sciences Logo named Word_Practice_6_Image1.
- With the picture selected, on the Picture Tools, Format toolbar set:
-
- The picture height to 2.0″.
- The text wrapping layout to Top and Bottom.
- The horizontal alignment to Centered, relative to Column.
- The vertical alignment to Bottom, relative to Margin.
- Select OK.
- With the picture selected, on the picture tools, Format toolbar, in the Size group, choose the arrow under Crop.
- Using the Cropping handles on the picture, crop the picture by using the far right crop handle and dragging to the left until only the circle heart logo is visible. Everything in the gray area will be cropped. The cropped image should look something like this:
- With the image still selected, choose more layout options. Use the Text Wrapping tab to change the layout text wrapping to Square. Click the Size Tab and uncheck the Lock aspect ratio box.
- Use the Position tab to set the horizontal alignment to Centered, relative to Page. Under options, choose Lock Anchor.
- With the image still selected, zoom to 200%