Word Practice 6
Prefer to watch and learn? Check out this video tutorial:
Complete the following Practice Activity and submit your completed project.
For Word Practice 6, we will use Word to create a newsletter for Health Sciences students at PVCC. Key skills in this practice are formatting text as columns, editing pictures, inserting screen clips, symbols and special characters.
- Start Word and open Starter_Word_Practice6. Save the file as Yourlastname_Yourfirstname_Word_Practice_6 in your Word folder.
- Using Document Info, insert the file name in the footer.
- Select the first paragraph that begins with Paradise and apply Bold text and change the font color to Blue-Gray, Text 2.
- With the title still selected, go to the Home Tab, Paragraph Group, select the arrow next to Borders and choose Borders and Shading to launch the Dialog Box. Add a Blue-Gray, Text 2Darker 25%, 2¼ pt solid line bottom border.
- Select all the text beginning with Health Sciences Newsletter down to the end of the document excluding the final paragraph.
- On the Layout Tab, Page Setup Group, Set the columns to two. Compare your screen to the image below:
- With the two columns of text still selected, change the spacing after to 6 pt and Justify the text.
- Position the insertion before December Birthdays and insert a column break on the Layout tab, beaks group, and select column. This will ensure the column of December Birthdays is a new column.
- Position the insertion point at the end of the document in the empty space after the paragraph that begins with When you are finished…
- On the Insert tab, Illustrations Group, Select Pictures. Browse to where your data files are stored and insert the Health Sciences Logo named Word_Practice_6_Image1.
- With the picture selected, on the Picture Tools, Format toolbar set:
-
- The picture height to 2.0″.
- The text wrapping layout to Top and Bottom.
- The horizontal alignment to Centered, relative to Column.
- The vertical alignment to Bottom, relative to Margin.
- Select OK.
- With the picture selected, on the picture tools, Format toolbar, in the Size group, choose the arrow under Crop.
- Using the Cropping handles on the picture, crop the picture by using the far right crop handle and dragging to the left until only the circle heart logo is visible. Everything in the gray area will be cropped.
- With the image still selected, choose layout options. Use the Text Wrapping tab to change the layout text wrapping to Square. Choose more. Under options, choose Lock Anchor.
- Use the Position tab to set the horizontal alignment to Centered, relative to Page.
- With the image still selected, zoom to 200%.
- On the Picture Tools, Format Toolbar, Adjust Group, choose the arrow next to Corrections. Under Sharpen/Soften, choose Sharpen 50%.
- Under Color, choose Saturation 400% for the Color Saturation.
- Under Corrections, set the Brightness/Contrast to Brightness: +20% Contrast +20%.
- With the picture still selected, set the Zoom back