Word Practice 2
Prefer to watch and learn? Check out this video tutorial:
Complete the following Practice Activity and submit your completed project.
For Word Practice 2, we will use Word to create a document to inform potential applicants of a trainee program at Paradise Valley Community College’s Fine Arts Division. Key skills in this practice are creating lists, tab stops, and SmartArts.
- Start Word and open Starter_Word_Practice2 from your Data files folder. Save the file as Yourlastname_Yourfirstname_Word_Practice_2 in your Word folder. Show the formatting marks and turn on the ruler.
- On the Layout Tab, in the Page Setup Group, Choose the arrow under Margins. Choose Custom Margins. In the Page Setup Dialog Box, Change the left and right margins to 1”.
- On the Insert Tab, in the Header and Footer group, Choose Footer, then Edit Footer. In the Header and Footer Toolbar, Design Tab, in the Insert Group, choose the arrow under Document Info. Add the file name to the footer.
- Starting at the top of your document, select all the text in the document. On the Home Tab, in the Paragraph group, select Align left.
- Move your insertion point to the top of the document.
- Select the title only: PVCC Fine Arts Division. Using the mini-toolbar, change the font size of the title text to 36.
- Using the technique you just learned, change the font of the second paragraph ‘Trainee Program’ to 24.
- Select the first two paragraphs, and center align them.
- Select the entire document. On the Home Tab, Paragraph group, select the arrow next to Line and Paragraph Spacing. Change the line spacing for the entire document to 1.5 and save the document.
- Set the indentation for the paragraph that begins, ‘Our trainee program’s primary…’ to First Line Indent. This is done by launching the Paragraph dialog box on the Home Tab in the Paragraph Group. In the Paragraph dialog box, on the Indents and Spacing Tab, under Indentation, set the Special Box to First Line by .5”. Click OK. Notice on the ruler, a marker has been set at the .5” mark on the ruler.
- In the next paragraph, which begins, ‘As a trainee’, drag the First Line Indent marker to the 0.5mark on the Horizontal ruler.
- Using either method, apply a first line indent of .5” to the paragraph beginning with ’Here is a partial…’.
- Select the entire document. Launch the Paragraph dialog box on the Home Tab. In the Paragraph dialog box, on the Indents and Spacing Tab, Change the After Paragraph Spacing for the entire document to 6 pt. Click OK.
- Select the two subheadings, ‘Requirements’ and ‘Upcoming Trainee Programs’. and change the Before Paragraph Spacing for the selection to 12 pt. To select two nonadjacent headings, use the CTRL Key on your keyboard. Select the first heading, hold down the CTRL key, and then select the second heading.
- Select the paragraph starting with Educational and the next 2 paragraphs and apply bullets. Bullets are located on the Home Tab, Paragraph Group, Bullets. Choose the fir