KnowledgeHub
Questions
Tags
Users
Search
Alex Rivera
|
Logout
Edit Question
Title
Body
It happens to me all the time. I accidentally version a file, I do not want to be versioned (i.e. developer/machine specific config-files). If I commit this file, I will mess up the paths on all the other developer machines - they will be unhappy. If I do delete the file from versioning, it will be deleted from the other developers machines - they will be unhappy. If I choose to never commit the file, I always have a "dirty" checkout - I am unhappy. Is a clean way to "unversion" a file from revision-control, that will result in no-one being unhappy? edit: trying to clarify a bit: I have already commited the file to the repository and I want to only remove it from versioning - I specifically do not want it to be physically deleted from everyone doing a checkout. I initially wanted it to be ignored. Answer: If I could accept a second answer, it would be this . It answers my question with respect to git - the accepted answer is about svn.
Tags (comma-separated)
Save Edits
Cancel