I have a software app and I've hit an important milestone, version 2.0.

I decided I want to tag this version as "Version-2.0" so I have named this snapshot. I also created a "Version-2.0" branch in case I need to fix anything and merge it back into my trunk.

After reading through the Tortoise SVN help file, it informs me that I can switch my "working copy" to a newly created branch.

What does this mean?

Presently, I have:

/Project/Trunk/
/Project/Tags/
/Project/Branches/

All checked out. So what would be the point of "switching"? Currently, I just go to my /trunk folder and do my work. And when I made my tag and branch, it created folders in my /Tags/ and /Branches/ folder after I did an update.

Why wouldn't I just go to /Branches/Experiemental-v3.0/ and do my work there if I wanted to?

Can someone explain the concept of "Working Copy" and "Switching" to me? What am I missing? Do people generally not have the whole repository checked out, is that it?

Edit
Report