KnowledgeHub
Questions
Tags
Users
Search
Alex Rivera
|
Logout
Edit Question
Title
Body
I have a software app and I've hit an important milestone, version 2.0. I decided I want to tag this version as "Version-2.0" so I have named this snapshot. I also created a "Version-2.0" branch in case I need to fix anything and merge it back into my trunk. After reading through the Tortoise SVN help file, it informs me that I can switch my "working copy" to a newly created branch. What does this mean? Presently, I have: /Project/Trunk/ /Project/Tags/ /Project/Branches/ All checked out. So what would be the point of "switching"? Currently, I just go to my /trunk folder and do my work. And when I made my tag and branch, it created folders in my /Tags/ and /Branches/ folder after I did an update. Why wouldn't I just go to /Branches/Experiemental-v3.0/ and do my work there if I wanted to? Can someone explain the concept of "Working Copy" and "Switching" to me? What am I missing? Do people generally not have the whole repository checked out, is that it?
Tags (comma-separated)
Save Edits
Cancel