Alex Rivera | Logout

How to delete server entries in SQL Server Management Studio's "Connect to Server" Screen?

Asked 2011-06-03T16:51:49.877
33

Possible Duplicate:
How to remove “Server name” items from history of SQL Server Management Studio

In the "Connect to Server" screen, SQL Server Management Studio stores all entries you have ever entered for Server Name, login and password. This is very helpful, but from time to time things change, servers addresses change, databases are no longer available.

How can I delete server entries from this screen? Also, when you select a server, past logins are available in the list. Once again, these change. How can I delete user entries?

Connect to Server screen

Edit
Report

1 Answer

3

Unfortunately, it does not appear to be possible (or at least practical) to only remove certain items.

However, if you want, you can reset the configuration and start from scratch.

Make sure Management Studio is closed, then delete or rename this file:

%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Shell\SqlStudio.bin

Note that that file contains other user preference settings, so if you've customized your Management Studio configuration, you'll have some work to do restoring them.

Reference: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sqltools/thread/94e5c3ca-c76d-48d0-ad96-8348883e8db8/

Good luck!

answered 2011-06-03T17:31:23.677

Your Answer